Friday, March 20, 2009

More Men's Basketball Postseason Honors

A few of the in-state postseason men’s college basketball honors have been released

The Journal Sentinel put together their all-state team, which was rightly dominated by Marquette. But, UWM’s Tone Boyle earned newcomer of the year honors. His biggest competition was probably teammate James Eayrs, though Jimmy Butler from Marquette made a late charge.

Meanwhile, the issue of Inside Wisconsin Sports that is on newsstands now honors three Panthers on the all-state team. Boyle and Avery Smith were each named to the magazine’s second team while Eayrs earned honorable mention honors.

These honors are in addition to the recognition Boyle and Eayrs already received from the Horizon League after the regular season. Both were named to the league’s all-newcomer team while Boyle also earned second-team all-league honors.

Boyle led the Panthers in scoring and reached double figures 22 times this season. He also made 66 three-pointers on the year while scoring 20 or more points four times. The junior battled a back injury during the final three weeks of the season but, prior to his injury, he reached double figures in 14-straight games and made a three-pointer in 20-straight contests.

Eayrs pushed his scoring average up to 11.2 points per game with a stellar run over the final month of the season. In fact, after moving to the starting lineup Feb. 7, the junior averaged 15.6 points and 6.6 rebounds per game. He finished with a total of 17 double-figure point outings, including five 20-point games, and he had three double-doubles.

Smith returned to start 25 games this season, finishing second on the team in scoring. He had 14 double-figure outings this year and 40 total in his career. Smith also wound up with 14, 20-point outings, including six this season. He finished his collegiate career with 958 points, 333 rebounds and 107 steals.

I’m working on a season wrap-up of notes and stats for the website, which I’ll put out next week.